Member Church Book Study

Event Information

Date/Time
04/18/2022
8:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location

Our third and final Book study of the 21-22 year! Accessible Gospel, Inclusive Worship by our own Barbara J. Newman.

Join Associate Director of Church Services, Rev. Dr. LaTonya Penny in exploring (or re-experiencing) Barb’s idea-packed book. In the text, the focus is first on how to introduce someone to Jesus who may think, behave and interact with the world differently than you do, and then thinking about what it looks like to worship together with a wide range of abilities and needs for support. As with our other two book study groups, this will be a weekly Zoom meeting that lasts one hour.¬† To see videos of Barbara speaking, click on the link above which will direct you to a page honoring her life and legacy. We miss her dearly since her passing in September of 2020 and are honored to carry on the work of making the Gospel accessible and worship inclusive for people of all abilities. Join us!

Accessible Gospel, Inclusive Worship by [Barbara Newman, Betty Grit]

Need a copy of the book? You can order copies from our store, or the Kindle edition on Amazon. Partner member Churches each receive a free paperback copy when membership begins.

Zoom link provided upon registration.

The study will take place on Mondays in March at 8pm EST (7pm Central, 5pm Pacific)

Monday, April 18 – Intro, Puzzle Piece Perspective, and Getting to Know the Individual (pp.1-20)

Monday, 25 – Accessible Gospel and Inclusive Worship introduction (pp. 21-38)

Monday, May 2 – The vertical habits (pp.39-72)

Monday, May 9 – Comments from communities, through to end (pp. 73-82)

Register

Add to iCal
Add to Google Calendar

Bookings are closed for this event.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.